Low-T takes winter title in close game against Orange, 4-3

Low-T gathers withe the John Ling Championship Cup after their 4-3 win over Clockwork Orange in the West Denver Hockey League’s championship game Monday night, April 10, 2023 at Foothills Ice Arena in Lakewood, Colo. From left, back row: Cliff Hall, alternate captain, Nathan Dymerski, Paul Barsa, Patrick Sweeter, captain Luke Davis, Matt Walsh, David Van Doren. Front row: Brian Long, Tom Yetzer, Ted Graham, Eddy Cruz, Alex Speechley, Ed Tokarski. (Not pictured: Thanh Nguyen, John Yount, Brian Kosick) (Photo by Joe Mahoney/West Denver Hockey League)

Low-T killed a penalty late in the third period last Monday night to claim the WDHL championship over Clockwork Orange. Ed Tokarski, of Low-T, scored the game-winning goal at 7:30 of the third to cap their comeback from down 3-1 at the end of the first period. Low-T defenseman Matt Walsh finished the game with a hat trick.

Clockwork’s Mike Spee and Darin Smith gave Orange an early lead with Spee’s goal at 14:18 and a power play tally by Smith at 5:57 on a hooking call against Low-T’s Matt Walsh.

Walsh scored the first of his three goals at 3:39 to cut Clockwork’s lead to 2-1 before Chris Dorszykski of Clockwork added their last goal of the game at 3:20 in the first to give Orange a 3-1 lead.

Low-T’s comback started with Walsh’s second goal, unassisted, at 12:07. He completed the hat trick at 3:00 in the second to even the game 3-3.

Clockwork was unable to convert on three Low-T penalties including a slashing by Nate Duymerski with 1:35 left in the game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *